I Love My Family Celebration


Wednesday, May 16, 2018
Celebrating 4th grade school winners & their families
Lynchburg College in the Sydnor Performace Hall

Fourth grade students from elementary schools throughout Region 2000 were invited to submit essays on the topic, ‘Why My Family is Special.’ Volunteer judges choose a winner from each school and then in partnership with the Optimist Club of Lynchburg – one boy and one girl are selected as the two overall winners.

Each school winner was awarded a prize, and the two overall winners took home a grand prize scholarship for their education savings.

The night was full of kid friendly fun, families, education and celebration. The audience heard about everything from kids loving their families because they make the best cake to how families foster other children. It’s a wonderful evening, and we hope you’ll be a part of it next year.

This event was held in the Sydnor Performance Hall on the campus at Lynchburg College. It was free to families, teachers and students.

Here are the winners:

2018 4th Grade Essay School Winners

Private Schools & Home educator Groups

Andrew Power, Cornerstone Christian Academy

Brody Wegener, Desmond T. Doss Christian Academy

Michael Medina, Holy Cross Regional Catholic School

Leya Hawkes, James River Day School

Abby-Kate Boyd, Liberty Christian Academy

Hannah Hinson, Onward Christian Academy
Selah Toler, Temple Christian School

Andrew Blank, Under the Son Academy


Amherst County Schools

Chloe McGlinchey, Elon Elementary

Lamarra Sales, Temperance Elementary


Appomattox County Schools

Steve Clark, Appomattox Elementary


Bedford County Schools

Isabel Gooch, Boonsboro Elementary

Javan Dronso, Forest Elementary
Kylie Kauffman, New London Academy
Katie Dowdy, Otter River Elementary

Victoria Van Nguyen, Thomas Jefferson Elementary


Campbell County Schools

Brooklyn Burley, Altavista Elementary

Kiley Mays, Concord Elementary
Jaelie Smith, Leesville Road Elementary

Cayden Miller, Rustburg Elementary

Breanna Pham, Tomahawk Elementary

Dominic Pumagualle, Yellowbranch Elementary


Lynchburg City Schools

Samuel Webber, Bedford Hills Elementary
Kendall Slatton, Heritage Elementary
Samuel Webber, Bedford Hills Elementary
Kendall Slatton, Heritage Elementary
Amelia Spencer, Linkhorne Elementary
Christopher Rye, Robert S. Payne Elementary

Lyndon Bierlein, Perrymont Elementary

Patience Moore, Sandusky Elementary
Kanas Johnson, William Bass Elementary